What are Chakras?

Every human being has energy centres throughout their body. The chakras need to stay opened and balanced this will enable your spiritual being to function at the best possible level. If it so happens that one or more chakras get blocked one may experience physical or emotional symptoms relating to a specific chakra. Below is an article that will further explain the 7 chakras – Energy Centers in the Human Body.

  1. Root chakra

Location: Base of your spine near your tailbone
Colour: Red

This chakra is a representation of your power base and security. It determines a person’s ability to feel safe, grounded, secure and calm. We can also draw energy and manifest our hearts desires from the root chakra.

  1. Sacral chakra

Location: Two inches below your belly button

Colour: Orange

Meaning: This chakra governs your emotions, your creativity, sensitivity, sexuality, intimacy, emotional well-being, and self-expression. “Often, the sacral chakra needs to be cleared of stuck energy from traumas and pent-up emotions to heighten your creativity and ability to express your true self.”

This chakra is in charge of your emotions, sensitivity, intimacy, emotional well-being and self-expression.

  1. Solar plexus chakra

Colour: Yellow

Location: Between naval and sternum

Meaning: The solar plexus chakra is all about personal power, self-esteem, and confidence. “The colour yellow represents the ability to tap into the light of a thousand suns that exists within you. Focusing on the colour yellow in the upper part of your abdomen can help you to feel strong, confident, motivated, and powerful. You can also eat yellow-coloured foods to help you tap into the energy of this chakra.


  1. Heart chakra

Colour: Green

Location: Center of chest

Meaning: Although pink or red might logically be the first colours that come to mind when you think of the heart chakra, this energetic area is actually associated with green. “This chakra represents the ability to give and receive love, compassion, expansion, empathy, service to others, kindness, health, and healing. “We experience loss, regret, pain, low self-love, and low self-worth when this chakra is imbalanced.

  1. Throat chakra

Colour: Blue

Location: Base of the throat to the centre of the eyes

Meaning: “This chakra is all about self-expression and clear communication. People often hold back from speaking their truth for fear that they may face judgment or rejection. And it doesn’t just have to be your verbal communication. Writing is also governed by the throat chakra as well.

  1. Third-eye chakra

Color: Indigo/purple

Location: Center of the forehead between eyebrows

Meaning: Purple is a very mystical and magical colour that represents wisdom. The third eye is all about connecting to your intuition, inner vision, and higher consciousness. Having a clear and open third-eye chakra can help you to see the world in a whole new way.” Some things you can do to unleash your inner psychic powers include wearing the colour of the chakra, practising Kundalini yoga, using sound healing, or sniffing some frankincense essential oil.

  1. Crown chakra

Color: Purple/violet

Location: Two inches above the top of the head

Meaning: Unlike the other chakras, the crown chakra isn’t actually on your body. It’s located just above your head and “radiates infinitely upward and outward, connecting you to your soul, higher self, purpose, the universe, source and the divine,’ It’s all about purity, enlightenment, and higher states of consciousness.

Read More: How to balance Your Chakras